Monday, 31 July 2017 19:04

15-day ultimatum on Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu to step down as president of the NPF

Written by
(1 Vote)
Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu Nagaland Post

Kohima: Nagaland chief minister T.R. Zeliang along with 35 MLAs, which included around 31 MLAs who were recently expelled/suspended from the NPF party, have served a 15-day ultimatum on Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu to step down as president of the NPF, expressing apprehension that continuance of Dr. Shürhozelie as NPF president would “invite further destruction and dismemberment” of the party at various hierarchies.

This was contained in a letter to NPF president, Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu (attached with meeting minutes of the NPF legislature party held on July 29, 2017 at state banquet hall, Kohima) by Tokheho Yepthomi, with his official designation as Parliamentary Affairs minister, Nagaland government.

According to the 36 MLAs, who signed the meeting minutes, the meeting took stock of the political situation after TR Zeliang, took over as the leader of the NPF legislature party including the reins of the government in the state. 

 The MLAs expressed particular concern with the “precarious condition” of the NPF party in the hands of Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu. They accused the party president of creating a deep divide between the party organisation and the legislative wing for his “selfish ends”. 

 According to the signatories, the resolution to serve an ultimatum on Dr. Shürhozelie was after taking note of his “autocratic style of functioning” wherein he expelled/suspended elected MLAs and MPs without issuing a show cause notice to them and without following due procedure of law and without observing the principles of natural justice.

 Further the MLAs said they also took note of the “fraud Dr. Shürhozelie” in mutilating the constitution of the NPF party by adding words and additional sentences. They said such words were not authorised to be inserted in the constitution at any general convention but done by Dr. Shürhozelie to position himself “in an unquestionable and unbridled manner.”

 They also resolved to advise all party rank and file not to follow any orders from Dr. Shürhozelie as he had already come under cloud and was under the process of being removed from office as party president. They claimed that the impeachment had the backing of NPF leaders, workers and bodies from 36 Assembly Constituencies out of 47.

 Meanwhile, the MLAs have authorised the chief minister and leader of the NPF legislature party, TR Zeliang to forward the adopted resolutions to the Election Commission of India to inform it about the factual position in the NPF.

The signatories include T.R. Zeliang, G Kaito Aye, Imkong L. Imchen, Tokheho Yepthomi, Y Patton, Kipili Sangtam, Dr. Neikiesalie Nicky Kire, E.E. Pangteang, Kejong Chang, Neiba Kronu, Noke Wangnao, S.I. Jamir, Pukhayi, S. Pangnyu Phom, C.M. Chang, Nuklutoshi, Deo Nukhu, Naiba Konyak, C. Apok Jamir, Pohwang, Dr. Benjongliba Aier, Merentoshi Jamir, Hukavi Zhimomi, Shetoyi, B.S. Nganlang, Imtikumzuk, Zhaleo Rio, Dr. Longrineken, L Khumo, Eshak Konyak, Er. Vikho-o Yhoshü, Khekaho Assumi, Tovihoto Ayemi, Namri Nchang, Er. Kropol and Dr. Neiphrezo Keditsu.


Rio ‘selected’ as interim NPF president

In a new political development, the 36 MLAs on Monday “unanimously selected” former chief minister and current Lok Sabha MP, Neiphiu Rio as the interim president of the NPF.

 This was resolved during the meeting of NPF Legislature Party meeting held at the State Banquet Hall, CM’s residential bungalow, where Rio also attended as a special invitee.


According to the meeting minutes, signed by Leader of NPF Legislature Party and chief minister T.R. Zeliang, Rio and 35 MLAs, empowered Rio with all the functions and prerogatives of the president of the NPF under the Constitution of the NPF, to take decisions in the overall interests of the Nagas with immediate effect. 


He has also been empowered to appoint the divisional level office bearers and also take necessary steps for organising a general Convention of the NPF Party at the earliest.


The house also constituted a search committee comprising Tokheho Yepthomi, Y. Patton, Dr. Nicky Kire, E.E. Pangteang and Imkong L. Imchen, to assist the interim president in order to put in place the state level organisational structure of the NPF Party to be approved at the General Convention of the NPF Party.


The legislators further resolved to appeal to all the rank and file of the NPF Party to come and join the Government and the majority.

The legislature party further maintained that all decisions taken by NPF party under the leadership of Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu after July 13, 2017 shall be rendered null and void.


Read 436 times

Join our newsletter!

You may want to read from your inbox shall be delivered, do provide us your email.